Thursday Thoughts Link-Up

TTGood-copy

So, I am linking up with Jen at Ramblings of a Suburban Mom for the very first time. I have been following her blog for a few months as I was starting my own, and it is a lot of fun to read, both for her box reviews and for everyday feel-good fun. She is also a Target bargain genius. So, here goes, my first Thursday Thoughts.

Speaking of big changes, I am also in a huge transition, having all but decided that I will try my hand at being a stay-at-home mom for a couple years. After getting laid off, the job market has been terrible for writers and I miss my boy. I am waiting to find out about one possible job the first week in December. If that does not pan out, then we are taking D out of school (we’ve kept him in thus far because they have an 18 month waiting list), and my life is going to totally change. I never thought of myself as a stay-at-home mom, but I am excited and, ok, kinda scared because I think it is way harder than going to the office. What the heck am I going to DO to entertain him all day? I’d better get crafty. But seriously, I got this.

I had dinner and drinks with my BFF last night to celebrate her birthday and promotion. I got her a Birchbox subscription for her birthday and she was also excited to get a gift bag of leftover subscription box schwag that I gave her just because. She is just one of the greatest people in the world, and we always have such a good time and awesome conversations. Wish we could spend more time together.

So, after I wrote about D’s first traumatic headwound on Mommy Mondays this week, he got ANOTHER one at school on Tuesday. Cut his lip up pretty good falling over a big tractor on the playground. Holy crap! I can’t take this. He looks like he was in a fight:

danny head

Mama, quit interrupting my terrorizing to take pictures!

And as soon as he came home with his second cut, he was at it again trying to climb up on top of a big box of diapers; I caught him just as he was about to fall, and he LAUGHED.  Seriously, how did I end up with a future X-Games competitor as a child? I blame his dad.

So when I started this blog, it was over at Blogger, which is where I used to have a writing blog a long time ago. I had been away from blogging for awhile, and what I found out is that Google kind of ruined Blogger. So I migrated to WordPress this week and am having fun learning it. So much better.

It is super snowy and icy here today, so Mike is working from home. I am finishing some freelance work and some schoolwork, then going to do some chores. What I want to do is snuggle up with a coffee and watch a movie, but duty calls. At least I have some candles going and, while my husband is on constant conference calls, it is nice to have company while we both work away.

I think I have some good boxes coming today, so look for reviews later!

Happy Thursday!  And thanks, Jen, this was fun!

9 thoughts on “Thursday Thoughts Link-Up

  1. From one non-blogger to a blogger, I loved reading this and I’m thinking of getting myself some jodhpurs. Could you review those at some point?

  2. Being a stay at home mom is absolutely exhausting, but I wouldn’t have it any other way. I had to have an outlet though, so my husband bought me a domain. It seems to be working out well for me so far. 🙂 Welcome!!

    • I have been keeping him home for a couple days here and there since I lost my job, and it is completely exhausting, but those have also been my favorite days. I am excited. And your husband is smart. My husband knows that I always have to have a project no matter what, too. Thanks for your comment!

  3. I was the same as you. About 4 years ago I was furloghed and did not find a job so hubby and I talked and decided I could try being a stay at home mom. I never in a million worlds thought that I could do it or that I would like it but I love it and now that many years later and another kid later I can’t imagine doing anything different. I also totally agree that I think it would be easier to just get up and go to work every morning but then I would miss all the firsts. As far as keeping busy you would be surprised how fast the days go most days. I’ve also joined some mom groups and mine does go to preschool a couple half days a week too. Good luck.
    Stopping by from the link up – Jenny
    http://www.lovemyrandomness.blogspot,com

    • Thank you so much for this, Jenny. It is so good to hear these kinds of stories. I just never pictured myself staying at home, but I really am looking forward to it. Depending on where we end up, I will definitely need to do a playgroup situation, if only to make sure he still has time with other kids. The saddest part will be taking him out of a group of kids that he has been with since three months old. So nice to hear the good side of it.

Leave a Reply

